5th Ivy League Challenge

The “Ivy League Challenge” was an invitational Team Chess Tournament which took place at Hart House at the University of Toronto from March 24th to March 26th, 2023.

The tournament was organized for a 5th time (3rd time in-person) and the University of Toronto was the host. The teams playing in the tournament were: University of Toronto, University of Waterloo, Harvard University, University of Chicago, and Princeton University.

The “Ivy League Challenge” is one of the strongest University Team Competitions in North America. The rules for the “2023 Ivy League Challenge” can be accessed here. All rounds were held at the Hart House East Common Room and all games were broadcast live on the Hart House Chess Club website. A blitz tournament, the Ivy League Blitz, open to both players and non-players, happened after Round 2 on Friday, March 24th with a 3-way tie for first split between GM Andrew Tang, CM Koosha Jaferian, and FM Eilia Zomorrodian.

A full event report is published here, written by UofT B player Ethan Moon.

First Place: University of Chicago
Second Place: Princeton University
Third Place: University of Waterloo

Board 1: GM Awonder Liang
Board 2: IM Daniel Gurevich
Board 3: FM Wesley Wang
Board 4: CM William Li

Top Game: Round 2, FM Aydin Turgut (Princeton) vs FM Wesley Wang (Harvard) (game)

The schedule for the tournament was as follows.

Thursday March 23rd – Arrival Day

Teams arrive to Toronto.

Friday, March 24th – Hart House East Common Room

Opening Ceremony: 9:45 AM

Round 1: 10:00 AM

Round 2: 3:30 PM

Ivy League Blitz: 8:00 PM or as soon as round 2 finishes (free entry and free pizza)

Saturday, March 25th – Hart House East Common Room

Round 3: 10:00 AM

Round 4: 3:30 PM

Sunday, March 26th – Hart House East Common Room

Round 5: 9:30 AM

Closing Ceremony: 2:00 PM


The 2023 Ivy League Challenge featured the following teams. In total, there were: 3 GMs, 3 IMs, 1 WIM, 1 WFM, 9 FMs, and 2 CMs.

Chicago: GM Awonder Liang, GM Praveen Balakrishnan, FM Kapil Chandran, Kole Moses
Princeton: GM Andrew Tang, IM Daniel Gurevich, FM Aydin Turgut, Sam Massick, Kyle Li
Harvard: FM Christopher Shen, FM Akira Nakada, FM Wesley Wang, James Toliver
Waterloo: IM Yuanchen Zhang, FM Ian Zhao, FM Richard Chen, CM William Li
UofT A: WIM Yunshan Li, IM Nicholas Vettese, Wenzhi Dai, Derek Ma, WFM Cindy Qiao
UofT B: IM Mark Plotkin, FM Mike Ivanov, CM Koosha Jaferian, FM Eilia Zomorrodian, Matthew Shih, Ethan Moon, Victor Zheng

Note: UofT-B replaces Yale University


View the pairings and standings on chess-results: view the results

Live Games: view the games

Photos: view the photos (credits to Michael Hsu, Bowen Zhang)

Event video: view the video credits to Michael Hsu

From the 2019 Ivy League Challenge